Gentle Flow


This class is taught by:

Melissa Whorf

After personally experiencing a sense of unfulfillment after reaching benchmarks believed to lead to happiness, I began a self-exploring journey with the support of classes and mentors at Yoga Shelter. As a new student, I signed up for the very first Yoga Shelter 30 day challange. Completing this challenge helped me to find a sense of fulfillment that was not achieved from reaching other life goals. Upon completing the 30 day challenge, I began working the desk at the Birmingham location. Within 3 years, I have transformed my life by transitioning from desk staff, to assistant manager, to manager, to director of administration, to teacher. I work to stay dialed into the Yoga Shelter community with the hopes to serve and help others find a sense of fulfillment that can only be found on an inward journey. Namaste!

Victoria Birk Hill

I found my way to yoga because I was struggling with really bad anxiety and was desperate to find relief. Yoga helped. And the more I dug in and did the work, the more I healed. Yoga is so much more than a physical practice. It helps you spiritually and mentally. And it helps all of us find the best expression of ourselves.
I spent years studying many different yoga disciplines – Iyengar, Bikram, Ashtanga, Anusara – in Boston, Miami and New York, but it wasn't until I walked into the Yoga Shelter that I felt at home. There is such a positive and good energy about this place. It attracts and comforts those who walk through its doors. It is a safe space for all. And it teaches us life skills that we can apply in all that we encounter.
Teaching yoga has become a natural evolution for me - a way to give back and help guide others as they work through their own self-development. And it holds me accountable to be my best self in my own life journey.
I hope to share a class with all of you soon. The light in me honors the beautiful light in all of you.
Namaste!
Victoria
Gentle Flow is unheated, designed for those looking for a gentle and restorative practice - appropriate for everyone.

Upcoming classes:

  • Mon Jul 24 11:30 am - 12:30 pm with Melissa Whorf
    at Yoga Shelter (Grosse Pointe)
  • Wed Jul 26 11:30 am - 12:30 pm with Victoria Birk Hill
    at Yoga Shelter (Grosse Pointe)
  • Thu Jul 27 11:30 am - 12:30 pm with Melissa Whorf
    at Yoga Shelter (Grosse Pointe)
  • Sun Jul 30 10:00 am - 11:00 am with Julia Moss
    at Yoga Shelter (Grosse Pointe)
  • Mon Jul 31 11:30 am - 12:30 pm with Melissa Whorf
    at Yoga Shelter (Grosse Pointe)
  • Wed Aug 02 11:30 am - 12:30 pm with Victoria Birk Hill
    at Yoga Shelter (Grosse Pointe)
  • Thu Aug 03 11:30 am - 12:30 pm with Melissa Whorf
    at Yoga Shelter (Grosse Pointe)
  • Sun Aug 06 10:00 am - 11:00 am with Julia Moss
    at Yoga Shelter (Grosse Pointe)
  • Mon Aug 07 11:30 am - 12:30 pm with Melissa Whorf
    at Yoga Shelter (Grosse Pointe)
  • Wed Aug 09 11:30 am - 12:30 pm with Victoria Birk Hill
    at Yoga Shelter (Grosse Pointe)
  • Thu Aug 10 11:30 am - 12:30 pm with Melissa Whorf
    at Yoga Shelter (Grosse Pointe)
  • Sun Aug 13 10:00 am - 11:00 am with Julia Moss
    at Yoga Shelter (Grosse Pointe)
  • Mon Aug 14 11:30 am - 12:30 pm with Melissa Whorf
    at Yoga Shelter (Grosse Pointe)
  • Wed Aug 16 11:30 am - 12:30 pm with Victoria Birk Hill
    at Yoga Shelter (Grosse Pointe)
  • Thu Aug 17 11:30 am - 12:30 pm with Melissa Whorf
    at Yoga Shelter (Grosse Pointe)
  • Sun Aug 20 10:00 am - 11:00 am with Julia Moss
    at Yoga Shelter (Grosse Pointe)
  • Mon Aug 21 11:30 am - 12:30 pm with Melissa Whorf
    at Yoga Shelter (Grosse Pointe)
  • Wed Aug 23 11:30 am - 12:30 pm with Victoria Birk Hill
    at Yoga Shelter (Grosse Pointe)
  • Thu Aug 24 11:30 am - 12:30 pm with Melissa Whorf
    at Yoga Shelter (Grosse Pointe)
  • Sun Aug 27 10:00 am - 11:00 am with Julia Moss
    at Yoga Shelter (Grosse Pointe)